Oldham Chamber Awards

Oldham Countians of the Year

Stoesses, Fritz honored by
Chamber of Commerce

By Don Ward

BUCKNER, Ky. (June 2003) – For years, Bobbie and Barry Stoess have been giving to members of their community. On May 15, the community gave back, naming the couple the 2003 Oldham Countians of the Year, presented by the Oldham County Chamber of Commerce.

Bobbie and Barry Stoess

Bobbie and Barry Stoess

The couple heard the surprise announcement during the chamber’s quarterly dinner, held at the John W. Black Community Center, where nearly 200 people attended and later congratulated them.
The ceremony featured a videotape about the Stoesses and their many accomplishments and volunteer contributions, ranging from schools to the Boy Scouts. Jon and Mary Beth Westbrook announced the winners after reading a litany of successes the couple has had since arriving in Oldham County in 1977, the year they married after having met and dated while attending Eastern Kentucky University.

Dennis and Anita Fritz

Dennis and Anita Fritz

Retired Oldham County Circuit Judge Dennis Fritz also was honored, receiving the chamber’s sixth Lifetime Service Award.

Since retiring in 2001, he has been involved in numerous humanitarian activities, including trips to help poor families in Honduras. His volunteer efforts for local food banks and non-profit institutions is well known. He has helped the homeless, jail inmates and in other outreach programs.
This was the first time the chamber committee of past winners had selected a double winner for Oldham Countian of the Year. Bobbie and Barry said they were told in advance the other had won, but neither knew they both would be winners. Barry, a native of Crestwood who works for Oldham County Stone-The Rogers Group, said, “We have been blessed to live in this community. A lot of things I’ve been involved with was because Bobbie volunteered me,” he joked.

Oldham Countians
of the Year

1964 Milton C. Stoess
1965 Alton Ross
1966 Joe Tom Clifton
1967 Clyde Taylor
1968 Hiram Taylor
1969 Charles F. Lambert
1970 Richard Radcliffe
1971 Clayton Stoess, Sr.
1972 J. T. Walsh, M.D.
1973 Richard Beard
1974 James A. Hall
1975 Jim Chambers
1976 George F. Williamson
1977 Arvel McMahan
1978 Wendell Moore
1979 Robert Arvin
1980 Dennis Fritz
1981 Vivian Reinhardt
1982 Howard Mahan
1983 Edward G. Houchin
1984 A. L. Meacham
1985 Bruce Hamilton
1986 Gene Armstrong
1987 Dennis Deibel
1988 Jim Hannah
1989 Harold Smith
1990 Lee Clore
1991 Dianne Earing
1992 Robert A. Reid
1993 Eddy Barber
1994 Charles “Dee” Kelley
1995 Steve Shultz
1996 Bill Howard
1997 Jim Zimmerman
1998 Joan Bryant
1999 Jon Westbrook
2000 W. Blake Haselton
2001 Kevin Eldridge
2002 Mary Broecker
2003 Bobbie & Barry Stoess

Lifetime Service
Award Winners

1991 Bob Theiss
1992 Raymond Wilborn
1995 Martha Davis
1996 Milton C. Stoess, Sr.
1999 Jean Taylor
2003 Dennis Fritz

Bobbie, a Lexington, Ky., native and a former Oldham County Teacher of the Year who has worked for 24 years at Crestwood Elementary, said, “We just love what we do, and it gives us a thrill to help others.”
Also at the dinner, Ed Hovan of Bear Financial Services was introduced as the new board chairman, replacing outgoing Jon Bednarski. Other new board members include Ray Barrow, Bill Howard, Peggy Coyle, Howard Ferriell, Charlie Hagan and Lee Hamilton.

Back to June 2003 Articles.



Copyright 1999-2015, Kentuckiana Publishing, Inc.

Pick-Up Locations Subscribe Staff Advertise Contact Submit A Story Our Advertisers Columnists Archive Area Links Area Events Search our Site Home Monthly Articles Calendar of Events Kentucky Speedway Madison Chautauqua Madison Ribberfest Madison Regatta